Kalachakra Graz 2002

In 2002 the City of Graz commissioned the Buddhist Center She Drup Ling with the organisation of the Tibetan Buddhist Ritual "Kalachakra for World Peace”.

 

Under the guidance of His Holiness the XIV Dalai Lama, 15,000 visitors from 70 nations took part in the ceremony in Graz. Former Mayor Alfred Stingl said: "It was an impressive event for the people of the city. There was not a single negative incident during the Kalachakra as if there was a blessing over the whole city."

What does Kalachakra mean?

The word Kalachakra means "wheel of time" and refers to the unique representation of the cycles of time described in the Kalachakra Tantra. The meaning of the word tantra is "eternal river of continuity".

The External Kalachakra describes the origin and construction of the external world, the planets and the stars. It depicts the external cycles of life and time, such as the days of the year, and forms a comprehensive cosmology.


The Internal Kalachakra describes the life and time cycles of the human body, in particular the flow of breath and the energy-winds through the subtle body. This section also provides the basis for the Tibetan medical science.


The Alternative Kalachakra represents a comprehensive system of methods for practitioners. On the basis set out in the External and Internal Kalachakra it describes the procedures for attaining the state of enlightenment, free from all worries and suffering.


In order for individuals to be able to apply the necessary meditation methods, an initiation or empowerment is first required. On the one hand this empowerment serves to motivate the participants to desire the attainment of enlightenment for the benefit of all beings as quickly as possible, and on the other hand it serves as a blessing for the practices and as a protection from hindering influences.

 

The Alternative Kalachakra begins with a description of the sequence of events followed during this initiation. The initiation proceeds on the basis of a mandala composed of coloured sand, a symbolic representation of Kalachakra's palace. Buddha Kalachakra sits enthroned with his consort Vishvamata at the center of the mandala. The pair is surrounded by other Buddhas representing various aspects of purification and transformation. The initiation consists of a series of complex visualizations during which, analogous to human development, different aspects of human nature are purified and transformed.

 

The Alternative Kalachakra then describes the procedures involved in the generation and completion stages. An essential element of tantra generally requires practitioners to refrain from identifying with their everyday ego and its endless problems, and to view themselves in the corresponding visualizations as enlightened beings. During the meditations of the so-called generation stage the practitioners visualize themselves as enlightened Buddhas within a mandala and their surroundings as a pure realm in which the other participants are also enlightened beings. This is to allow participants to liberate themselves from their everyday imprisonment within the concept of the ego and to guide the mind into a state of purity and wisdom. The generation stage leads to the actualization of the Form Body (rupakaya). In the practice of the completion stage, which is essentially based on meditations on the subtle energy body, the mind retreats from all physical forms and realises its original state as pure clear light. The completion stage serves to actualize the Truth Body (dharmakaya).



More information about Kalachakra by Dr. Alexander Berzin:
http://www.berzinarchives.com/web/x/nav/n.html_554862326.html

Kontakt, Anmeldung & Kurs

Kalachakra Graz 2002

Im Jahre 2002 wurde der Verein zur Förderung Buddhistischer Werte von der Stadt Graz mit der Organisation der „Kalachakra for World Peace“, des tibetisch-buddhistischen Weltfrieden-Rituals „Kalachakra“, betraut.

Unter der Leitung Seiner Heiligkeit, des XIV. Dalai Lama nahmen 15.000 am Buddhismus Interessierte aus 70 Nationen an dem Zeremoniell in Graz teil. „Es war ein beeindruckendes Ereignis, sowohl spirituell als auch für die Menschen der Stadt", erinnert sich Altbürgermeister Alfred Stingl. „Bei dem Treffen gab es kein einziges negatives Vorkommnis; es war wie ein Segen über der Stadt."

Was bedeutet Kalachakra?

Das Wort Kalachakra bedeutet "Rad der Zeit" und bezieht sich auf die einzigartige Darstellung der Zyklen der Zeit innerhalb des Kalachakra Tantra. Die Bedeutung des Wortes Tantra ist "ewiger Strom der Kontinuität".

Das äußere Kalachakra ist eine Beschreibung der Entstehung und des Aufbaus der äußeren Welt, der Planeten und der Sterne. Es stellt äußere Lebens- und Zeitzyklen, wie die Tage des Jahres dar und beinhaltet eine umfassende Kosmologie.

Das innere Kalachakra beschreibt die Lebens- und Zeitzyklen des menschlichen Körpers, insbesondere den Fluss des Atems und den Fluss der subtilen Energien im feinstofflichen Körper. Dieses Kapitel dient auch als Grundlage der tibetisch-medizinischen Wissenschaft.

Das alternative Kalachakra stellt ein umfassendes Übungssystem für Praktizierende dar und beschreibt Methoden, wie die im äußeren und inneren Kalachakra beschriebene Basis  unsere Umwelt und unser Körper  in den Zustand der Erleuchtung umgewandelt werden kann, in einen Zustand frei von Sorge und Leid.

Um die dazu nötigen Meditationsmethoden anwenden zu können ist zunächst eine Einweihung oder Ermächtigung erforderlich. Diese Ermächtigung dient einerseits der Förderung der Motivation  wie die Erleuchtung zum Wohle aller Wesen möglichst rasch erreichen zu wollen  und wirkt andererseits als Segen für die Praxis und als Schutz vor hinderlichen Einflüssen.

Im alternativen Kalachakra wird zunächst der Ablauf dieser Einweihung beschrieben. Die Einweihung erfolgt auf Basis eines aus farbigem Sand gestreuten Mandala, einer symbolischen Darstellung des Palastes von Kalachakra. Im Zentrum des Mandala thront Buddha Kalachakra mit seiner Gefährtin Vishvamata. Das Paar ist von anderen Buddhas umgeben, die unterschiedliche Aspekte der Reinigung und Transformation repräsentieren. Die Einweihung besteht aus einer Reihe von komplexen Visualisationen, in denen analog zur menschlichen Entwicklung verschiedene Aspekte der menschlichen Natur gereinigt und transformiert werden.

Anschließend beschreibt das alternative Kalachakra die Praktiken der Entwicklung- und Vollendungsstufe. Ein wesentliches Element des Tantra besteht allgemein darin, dass sich die Praktizierenden nicht mit ihrem alltäglichen Ego und dessen endlosen Problemen identifizieren, sondern sich in entsprechenden Visualisationen als erleuchtete Wesen betrachten. In den Meditationen der sogenannten Entwicklungsphase visualisieren die Praktizierenden sich selbst als erleuchteten Buddha in einem Mandala und die Umgebung als Reines Land mit den anderen als erleuchtete Wesen. Es geht dabei darum, die gewohnheitsbedingte Verhaftung an die Konzepte des Ego zu lösen und den Geist in einen Zustand der Reinheit und Weisheit zu führen. Die Entwicklungsstufe führt zur Verwirklichung des Formkörpers (Rupakaya). In der Praxis der Vollendungsstufe, die im Wesentlichen auf Energiekörpermeditationen basiert, zieht sich der Geist von allen Formen zurück und realisiert seinen ursprünglichen Zustand reinen klaren Lichts. Die Vollendungsstufe dient der Verwirklichung des Wahrheitskörpers (Dharmakaya).

Weiterführende Infos zu Kalachakra von Dr. Alexander Berzin:
http://www.berzinarchives.com/web/x/nav/n.html_973304666.html

Kontakt, Anmeldung & Kurs